By Wares October 27, 2017 Industry news

The ETA AGM at the end of September at the Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre saw a good attendance of service companies and distributors.

ETA President Andrew Watson reported a steady past 12 months, taking into account operational changes with ETA relocating office, but reinforced the need to be focused on the present and future, not the past.

It is fair to say that the ETA has been persistent in its push towards training and upskilling and it's also fair to say that this has been ignored by the majority in the past.

It is now a fact we have too few people in the trade and falling numbers of experienced people, which, in turn, has compromised the overall skill set within the industry.

For the future we need to be proactive and work together with our members to ensure we attract new recruits with professional training and upskilling.

Executive Officer Gavin Bowden presented a positive financial report and an improvement in membership from distributor members.

The ETA Board of Directors for the next year are: Andrew Watson (President); Kevin Rijns (LG Electronics); Kevin Craig (Sunbeam); Naveen Dowlath (Samsung) and Matthew Whitley (BSH Home Appliances).

With the retirement of Roger Blincoe and Mike Julius ETA welcomed to the Board new members: Leo Perry (Five Star Appliances, Hamilton ); and Mathew Patterson (Searle Electronics, Whangarei).

Special thanks went out to Roger Blincoe for his outstanding contribution to the industry over many years and it was unanimously voted for Roger to become a life member of the association.

Next year’s conference will be held at the James Cook Hotel, Wellington 23-25 March 2018.

share this